Wear Your Mask - Wash Your Hands - Practice Distancing - Stay Home If Sick. COVID-19 Important Updates and Multilingual Resources.

HPD Geographical Policing

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

The Harrisonburg Police Department recognizes seven geographic districts within the city which are overseen by Patrol Sergeants.  The department recently updated the areas of responsibility for the patrol division and created sectors that overlay the 7 Districts.  Each sector is overseen by a patrol lieutenant. Districts have also been slightly updated to accommodate new construction since the original geographic policing project in 2013.

PDF[624KB] HPD Sector and District Map Overlay


PDF[460 KB] HPD 7 District Patrol Map (no street names)

Harrisonburg District Map

District Number, Supervisor, Email Day Shift - A or C Squad
Night Shift - B or D Squad
1. Sgt. Ritchie     
Officer Leeper - A 
Officer Jackman - C
Officer Klotz
Officer Kierce - B
Officer Nuno - B
Officer Bess - D
2. Sgt. Ritchie

Officer Leeper - A
Officer Jackman - C
Detective Wetherell

Officer Keirce - B
Officer Nuno - B
Officer Bess - D
Officer Campbell - D

3. Sgt. Wonderley/Sgt. LaPrevotte
Officer Turner - A
Officer Diaz - A
Officer Fawley - C
Detective Spiggle
Officer Thomas - B
Officer Keller - B
Officer McCaughan - D
Officer D. Jones - D
4. Sgt. Ritchie
Officer McKenzie - A
Officer Howdyshell - A
Officer Fowler - C
Officer Emswiler - C
Detective Life
Officer C. Wetherell - B
Officer Sofy - B
Officer Kramer - D
5. Sgt. Douglas/ Sgt. Morris
Officer Urrutty - A
Officer P.K. Ritchie - A
Officer Burrows - C
Officer Lanphier - C
Detective Matthias

Officer Castellano - B
Officer Quesenberry - B
Officer Alger - D

6. Sgt. Terrell
Officer Seiver - A
Officer T. Morris - C
Detective Wyant
Officer Hancock - D
Officer Scott - B
7. Sgt. Luerrsen

Officer Hanlon - A
Officer Burgoon - A
Officer Petit - C
Detective Dyer

Officer Shifflett - B
Officer Ropp - D

Mental Illness Crisis Team (MICT) - Officer Hensley (A Squad), Officer D. Morris (B Squad), Officer Campbell (C Squad), Officer Anderson (D Squad)